Karnataka polls: In BJP’s third list, new candidates for Jagadish Shettar’s seat and Bengaluru IT corridor

The BJP has substituted a three-time MLA of Bengaluru’s IT corridor with his wife and has retained two other MLAs in a third list of 10 candidates declared for the Karnataka Assembly polls on Monday.

The BJP has dropped two sitting MLAs in the new list while the seat of the former BJP CM Jagadish Shettar – who joined the Congress on Monday – has been given to a long-term party worker considered to be loyal to the national organization secretary, B L Santhosh.

In the Mahadevapura constituency in Bengaluru’s IT corridor, which has been battered by flooding during rains, the BJP has chosen sitting MLA Aravind Limbavali’s wife Manjula Aravind Limbavalli as the candidate. Limbavali has been at the center of many controversies in recent times including misbehavior with supporters. The seat is reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates.

The BJP has replaced Jagadish Shettar – -who quit the party after being told that he would not be given a ticket -– in the Hubbali Dharwad (Central) seat with a local Hubli BJP leader, Mahesh Tenginakai.

The BJP has retained its MLAs Kalakappa Bandi, a Yediyurappa loyalist, for the Ron seat and Rajkumar Patil for the Sedam seat. It has however dropped its Koppal MLA Karadi Sanganna who is likely to join the Congress or JDS and has brought in a woman candidate, Manjula Amaresh, for the seat.

It has also dropped MLA S A Ramdas in the Krishna Raja seat in Mysuru and has picked Srivatsa, a new face, for the seat. For the Hebbal seat, the BJP has picked Katta Jagadish, the son of a former minister Katta Subramanya Naidu, who was arrested for corruption during the BJP’s tenure between 2008-13.

The party has fielded two new candidates for the Govindarajanagar in the form of the former Bengaluru city councilor Umesh Shetty and B Ramanna for the Hagaribommanahalli seat in Ballari.

With the release of the third list, the BJP has announced candidates for 222 of the 224 assembly seats in Karnataka. Candidates for two seats – Manvi and Shivamogga City — are yet to be announced. BJP veteran K S Eshwarappa, who vacated the Shivamogga City seat, is seeking a ticket for his son K E Kanthesh on the lines of the decision of former CM B S Yediyurappa to make way for his son.

In all the BJP has dropped 19 sitting MLAs out of 116 sitting MLAs (two BJP seats have been vacant since 2022 after the deaths of Umesh Katti and Anand Mamani).

The MLAs who lost out so far are S A Ramdas, Karadi Sanganna, Jagadish Shettar, S Angara, Sanjeev Matandoor, Raghupathy Bhat, Lalaji Mendon, Halady Srinivas, Goolihatti Shekhar, Ramappa Lamani, Anil Benake, Yadwad Shivalingappa, C M Nimbannavar, Nehru Olekar, S A Ravindranath, Linganna, Madal Virupakshappa, Sukumar Shetty and M P Kumaraswamy.

In addition, former CM Yediyurappa has been replaced by his son B Y Vijayendra; Vijayanagara MLA Anand Singh has been replaced by his son Siddharth Singh; Umesh Katti’s Hukkeri seat has been given to his son Nikhil Katti, and the Saundatti Yellamma seat of Anand Mamani to his wife Ratna.


  • Adam Gray

    Adam Gray is an experienced journalist with a passion for breaking news and delivering it to the masses. With over a decade of experience in the field, he has covered everything from local stories to national events, earning a reputation for his accuracy, reliability, and attention to detail. As a reporter, Adam is always on the lookout for the next big story, and his dedication to uncovering the truth has earned him the respect of his peers and readers alike. When he's not chasing down leads, Adam can be found poring over the latest headlines, always on the lookout for the next big scoop. Contact [email protected]