Davis Guggenheim’s “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie,” which chronicles the actor’s life, career and battle with Parkinson’s disease, won best nonfiction film at the Critics Choice Documentary Awards, held Sunday night in New York of the year 2023.

The Apple TV+ film won a total of five awards, including best director for Guggenheim, best narrative for Fox, best biographical documentary and best editing.

Journalist Mstyslav Chernov Chernov won the award for best first documentary film for “20 Days in Mariupol.”

Other winners included “Being Mary Tyler Moore” (Best Archival Documentary), “The Deepest Breath” (Best Sports Documentary), “20 Days in Mariupol” (Best Political Documentary), “American Symphony” (Best Music Documentary) and “Secrets of the Elephants.” (Best Science/Nature Documentary) and “JFK: One Day in America” (Best Historical Documentary).

Jon Batiste won for music in “American Symphony” and Tim Cragg won for cinematography in “The Deepest Breath.”

In the documentary series categories, the winners were “30 for 30” for ongoing documentary series and “The 1619 Project” for limited documentary series.

The short documentary award went to “The Last Repair Shop” by Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers.

Special honors went to Ross McElwee, who won the Pennebaker Award, formerly the Critics Choice Lifetime Achievement Award.

Actor and comedian Wyatt Cenac hosted the show, which took place at the Edison Ballroom in New York City.

The Critics Choice Documentary Awards have been presented since 2016. Of the seven previous winners, two won the Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature, “OJ: Made in America” in 2016 and “Summer of Soul” in 2021; In the other five years, the CCDA winner was a mainstream documentary that, surprisingly, wasn’t even nominated for an Oscar. (For the record: “Jane,” “Won’t You Be My Neighbor,” “Apollo 11,” “Dick Johnson Is Dead,” and “Good Night Oppy.”)

The winners:

Best Documentary: “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie” (Apple TV+)
Best Director: Davis Guggenheim, “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie” (Apple TV+)
Best First Documentary: “20 Days in Mariupol”, Mstyslav Chernov (PBS)
Best true crime documentary: (tie) “John Lennon: Murder Without a Trial” (Apple TV+) and “Telemarketers” (HBO)
Best sports documentary: “The Deepest Breath” (Netflix)
Best Political Documentary: “20 Days in Mariupol” (PBS)
Best music documentary: “American Symphony” (Netflix)
Best Archival Documentary: “Being Mary Tyler Moore” (HBO)
Best Science/Nature Documentary: “Secrets of Elephants” (National Geographic)
Best Historical Documentary: “JFK: One Day in America” (National Geographic)
Best Biographical Documentary: “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie” (Apple TV+)
Best Ongoing Documentary Series: “30 for 30” (ESPN)
Best Limited Documentary Series: “The 1619 Project” (Hulu/Onyx Collective)
Best camera: Tim Cragg, “The Deepest Breath” (Netflix)
Best editing: Michael Harte, “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie” (Apple TV+)
Best musical score: Jon Batiste, “American Symphony” (Netflix)
Best narrative: “Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie” (Apple TV+), narration written and performed by Michael J. Fox
Best Short Documentary: “The Last Repair Shop” (Breakwater Studios)

Pennebaker Prize: Ross McElwee

Source : www.thewrap.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *